So very concerned

Student had a homework question – Agree or Disagree: Generally, men seemed less concerned about building a relationship than women.

Student is not a native English speaker.
French grammar treats verbs a little differently than English.

The man is less concerned than the woman?

The woman is less concerned than the man?

I am So Concerned

This is about how our conversation went:

  • I seem you less concerned about
  • I seem you less concerned about

He said: I seem less concerned than you about it. It looks like I am worried a smaller amount than you. I don’t care about it as much as you do.

He said: You seem less concerned than me about buying the fanciest car even if we can’t afford it. You are worried about it a smaller amount.

  • I have you less concern.
  • No, change the word order.
  • No, it makes sense to stay like this!

Man: I have less cake than you.

Man: I have less worry than you.

Man: I have less concern than you.

Student: I have you less concern.

 

She said, I seem/appear to be MORE concerned than you. It looks like I am more worried about it, and I want to talk about it.

  • Me: Seem = appear to be
  • Student: wait, what does ‘appear’ mean?
  • Me: Seem = looks like.

He said, You are much too concerned, it is wasting my time and I want to watch football

 

Leave a Reply

